BCCI Upgrades Domestic Tournament Structure

6 months ago Global Daily Tribune . 0

The Board of Control for Cricket in India- BCCI has upgraded the structure of the domestic test tournament Ranji Trophy for its upcoming edition. After suggestions from various committees of the board and inputs from former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag, the BCCI has come up with a revamped structure. This is expected to provide balance as well as increase the efficiency of Indian Cricket’s premier domestic tournament. According to reports in the Times of India, the BCCI has come up with the following structure for the 2017-18 edition of the Ranji Trophy:

The tournament will have 28 participating teams. Teams will be divided into four groups – A, B, C, and D having 7 teams each. Since the 2012 editions, 3 groups contained 10, 10 and 9 teams, respectively. Hence, the new structure offers greater balance.

Seven teams in each group will balance the tournament nicely, unlike the previous format (10+10+9). Most importantly, this format will help us manage the workload of the bowlers, particularly the pacers, in a better way. Keeping Sehwag’s suggestion in mind, this time we’ve consciously kept a four-day gap between all games in the Ranji Trophy. Earlier, a bowler from a Ranji winning game would end up bowling in 12 games within a few months.The workload has been reduced by two games.”Quoted a source to the TOI.

BCCI revamps domestic structure
BCCI revamps domestic structure

Also, the top two teams from each group will advance to the quarterfinals. Previously, three teams each from groups A and B and two teams from group C advanced to the quarterfinal stage.

Ranji Trophy kick starts on October 6,2017 : BCCI
Ranji Trophy kick starts on October 6, 2017

The Schedule as per BCCI:

The 2017-2018 edition of Ranji Trophy will kick start from October 6, 2017, with Mumbai Vs Indore. Knock-out stage matches will be played from December 7-11, semi-finals December 17-21 and the finals will be played from December 29-January 2.

The Irani Cup will be held from January 11-15,2018 between the winners of Ranji Trophy and the Rest of India team. The limited overs domestic season commences from January 21-29 with the T20 Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Star Sports, the official broadcaster of all BCCI tournaments will telecast one game from the first round of Ranji Trophy.

In a bid to provide exposure to youngsters in limited overs, the BCCI has introduced a domestic One-Day meet for U23 cricketers from this season-suggested by Mumbai Cricket Association(MCA), called Col CK Naydu Trophy.