President of India approves EC’s recommendation to disqualify 20 AAP MLAs

1 month ago Rajeev K Sharma 0

New Delhi, Jan 21: In a bizarre incident President Ram Nath Kovind has approved a recommendation from the Election Commision of India to disqualify AAP (Aam Admi Party) MLAs from the Delhi legislative assembly for allegedly having “office of profit”.

The AAP MLAs who are disqualified are Alka Lamba, Adarsh Shastri, Shiv Charan Goyal, Sanjeev Jha, Rajesh Gupta, Kailash Gehlot, Vijendra Garg, Praveen Kumar, Sharad Kumar, Madan Lal Khufiya, Sarita Singh, Naresh Yadav, Rajesh Rishi, Anil Kumar, Som Dutt, Avtar Singh, Sukhvir Singh Dala, Manoj Kumar and Nitin Tyagi. In this matter, an official statement from AAP also came to light that we may approach the judiciary to resolve this issue.

AAP - President of India approves EC's recommendation to disqualify 20 AAP MLAs
President Ram Nath Kovind

Gopal Rai, a senior party member & minister stated that “We were hoping to approach president of India on this issue but before that this news appear. As of know this news appeared know AAP can knock the doors of High Court and even if required we will go to Supreme Court”.

However, Congress party claims that AAP received help from BJP & Election Commision for delaying this decision by over three weeks in total. As per the Congress Leader Ajay Makhan, “If this decision comes before Dec 22, 2017, then these 20 disqualified MLA’s wouldn’t be qualified to vote in the Rajya Sabha Election”.


AAP - President of India approves EC's recommendation to disqualify 20 AAP MLAs
Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal

Congress and BJP demanded Delhi Chief Minister Mr. Arvind Kejriwal resignation on moral grounds in concern of this incidence. However, there is no risk for AAP government in Delhi because AAP has 66 MLA’s in a total of 70 members assembly.

Deputy CM of Delhi Mr. Manish Sisodiya also comments on this decision and states that AAP will approach the court in this matter because EC had not given a chance to put our stand and EC didn’t follow due process & the decision of President of India cames without hearing party view.