Gujarat elections 2017: Prominent leaders of BJP who lost against Congress

3 months ago pratyush shukla 0

The BJP secured a comfortable majority by winning 99 seats in the 182-member Gujarat assembly but the tough competition was given by Congress. Star campaigner PM Modi expressed his gratitude toward the public of Gujarat. BJP  said that votes were the result of development and good governance of Modi in both central and state.

Election result 2017
PM Modi with Amit Shah, Rajnanth Singh and other prominent leaders of BJP celebrating their victory.

Though BJP won Gujarat elections back to back six times, then also some of its prominent leaders were not able to save their seats in the assembly.

Atmaram Parmar and Chimanbhai Sapariya are cabinet ministers of Gujarat. Parmar is a prominent Dalit leader of BJP but he lost against Pravinbhai Maru of Congress in Gadhada (SC) seats in Botad district. Maru was able to win with 9,424 votes.

Chimahai Saparia ended up at 61,694 meanwhile his opponent Kalariya scored 64,212 votes thus registering his name on the seat of Jamjodhpur constituency.

In Deodar constituency, BJP state minister Keshaji Chauhan lost his seat with a very less margin of 972 votes against Shivabhai Bhuriya of the Congress. Shivabhai Bhuria scored 80,432 votes against Chauhan’s 79,460.

Shabdsharan Tadvi was excavated by Congress leader Premsinh Vasava in Nandod (ST) seat and Premsinh Vasava registered his victory with a margin of 6,329 votes.

Shankar Chaudhary lost to Congress’ Geniben Thakor. Chaudhary secured 95,673 votes against Thakor who scored 1,02,328 votes.